ASTACAP Exams held May 21, 2011

The ASTA Certificate Advancement Program (ASTACAP) spring exams were held for the 14th year in a row at the Benjamin T. Rome School of Music, Catholic University, Washington, D.C., on Saturday, May 21, 2011.

A total of 56 students—48 violinists and 8 violists from the studios of 10 teachers took the exam.
The following teachers were represented: Lorraine Combs, Margo Guillory, Slavica Ilic, Larry Keiffer, Anne Marie Patterson, Jean Provine, Judy Shapiro, Cathy Stewart, Chienmo Wu, and Lya Stern. The teachers who entered students served as monitors. Mark Pfannschmidt supplied invaluable assistance with his thorough data entry of applications and scheduling.

The expert examiners were Gerald Fischbach, Laura Kobayashi, and Nancy Kredel.

Kredel Tsao and Wu

Above: Judge Nancy Kredel, viola student Yi Tsao, and teacher Chienmo Wu.

Number of students in various levels:
Foundation Level to Level 4: 22 students
Level 5 to 7: 27 students
Level 8 to 10: 7 students

Distribution of grades:
V (Very Good) (including some V- and V+): 45 students
S (Satisfactory) (including some S- and S+): 7 students
N (Needs Improvement Student must retake exam to get a Certificate): 1 student
Comments Only (Optional. Student plays to show effort and get the examiner’s comments. Memorization is not expected, exam is not graded and no Certificate is issued): 3 students
Honors (To earn this, the student must present an over all superior performance of the entire exam and play one piece from a more advanced level): 7 students

Together with the winter exams of February 2011, in Silver Spring, MD, expertly coordinated by Dorée Huneven and Julianna Chitwood, we had a total of 140 students participants in 2011.

We encourage all teachers who have not yet tried the program, especially viola, cello, bass, and harp teachers, to visit and observe the exams, talk to teachers who have used the program, read all about it, and consider enrolling their students.


Copyright © 2008 - 2010 ASTA MD/DC Chapter. This website was created by Jonas Music Services.